Molokai Man

Kau Inoa

kauinoalogowrapper

I’m learning a lot about the Native Hawaiian movement. Molokai is at the center of Native Hawaiians preserving their traditions and some of them want to see a Hawaiian nation established. This is certainly not the majority, but I see the bumper stickers and t-shirts all over the place. Like many things in Hawaii, Kau Inoa does not receive much attention on the mainland.

There are also some very interesting parallels to the Native American Movement. Much of the recent activity can be traced to the 1970’s when Native Hawaiians, influenced by Native American acts at Wounded Knee and Alcatraz, made claims the Island of Kaho’olwe. Once a bombing site for the military, Native groups from all the islands have been gradually bringing the Island’s ecosystem back.

November 18, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. There is large support and also large opposition to Kau Inoa. I have heard both sides of the story, as to what Kau Inoa does and why we Kanaka Maoli should or should not register for it. I haven’t decided whether or not I’m in support of the Akaka Bill. But I will say this, I am 100 percent in support of creating a sovereign governing entity for Native Hawaiians. The condition of many of our brothers and sisters is racked with homelessness and unemployment. We need to create a sovereign entity to improve the condition of Kanaka and preserve our beautiful culture. I haven’t registered for Kau Inoa yet, until I research more information on what exactly it will do. I have signed up for OHA’s Hawaiian Registry program, I have a card declaring my Native Hawaiian ancestry. My uncle is on the board of trustees for OHA and there are many Hawaiians who call OHA corrupt and liars. I think if we want to achieve any sense of sovereignty and self-determination, we need to find common ground amongst our people.

    Comment by Jon Keonakana | June 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

